Standard Texts
Cotton, F. A. and Wilkinson, G., Advanced Inorganic Chemistry, New York: Wiley, 1988.
6th ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD151.2 C68 1999
Covington, A. Ion Selective Electrode Methodology, Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 1979.
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD571 I578 2 vol. 1-2
Greenwood, N. N. and A. Earnshaw. Chemistry of the Elements. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann, 1997.
2nd ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD466 G74 1997
1st ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD466 G74 1984
Harris, D. C., Quantitative Chemical Analysis, New York: W.H. Freeman, 1995.
7th ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD101.2 H37 2007
6th ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD101.2 H37 2003
5th ed.: Chemistry Library Reserves: QD101.2 H37 1998
Kennedy, J. H., Analytical Chemistry Principles. 2nd ed. Saunders, 1990.
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD75.2 K45 1990
Martell, A. E. and R. J. Motekaitis, Determination and Use of Stability Constants, New York: VCH Publishers, 1992.
2nd ed.: Chemistry Library Reserve: QD503 M374 1992
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD503 M45 1988.
Wilson, C. L. and D. W. Wilson, Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry, Amsterdam: Elsevier, 1960.
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD75 W75 v. 1 part 3.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Analytical Chemistry [english-german-french-polish-russion]. Elsevier, 1990.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD 71.5 D53 1990
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science. London: Academic Press, 1995.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD71.5 E53 1995 v.1-10
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology ("Kirk-Othmer"). New York : Wiley, 1991-
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: TP9 E68 2004
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: TP9 E68 1991
Wendt Library Reference Collection, 2nd Fl, Noncirculating: TP9 E68 1991
Enclyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis. Interscience. 1966.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD 131 E5 [Vol. 1-20]
Encyclopedia of nuclear magnetic resonance. Chichester ; New York : John Wiley, 1996.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QC762 E53 1996
Encyclopedia of separation science. San Diego, Calif. ; London : Academic, 2000.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: TP156 S45 E532 2000 (1-10)
Encyclopedia of spectroscopy and spectrometry. San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 2000.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD95 E55 2000 (1 - 3)
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of industrial chemistry. 5th ed. Weinheim, Federal Republic of Germany : VCH Verlagsgesellschaft ; Deerfield Beach, FL, USA : VCH Publishers, 1985-
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: TP9 U57 1985
Wendt Library, 2nd Floor: TP9 U57 1985
Martell, A. E. and R. M. Smith, Critical Stability Constants, NewYork: Plenum, 1977.
Chemistry Library Reference: QD503 M37
Perrin, D. D. and B. Dempsey, Buffers for pH and Metal Ion Control, London: Chapman and Hall, 1979.
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD561 P44 1979
Handbooks and Manuals
Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra, Milwaukee, Wis.: Aldrich, 1985-1989.
Chemistry Library Reference: QD96 I5 P66 1985
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra, Milwaukee, Wis.: Aldrich, 1993.
Chemistry Library Reference: QC462.85 A44 1993
Analytical chemistry handbook. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1995.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD78 D43 1995
Wendt Library Reference Collection, 2nd Fl, Noncirculating: QD78 D43 1995
Bishop, Edmund, Indicators, 1st ed., Oxford: Pergamon, 1972.
Chemistry Library Reserves: QD77 B6 1972
Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature: Definitive Rules 1997. IUPAC. Blackwell, 1998.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD7 5.3 C65 1998
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Cleveland, Ohio: CRC Press. 1978-present. (print)
Chemistry Library Reference: QD65 H32
UW Licensed Electronic (current edition): http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online References.
http://knovel.com/knovel2/default.jsp
Official methods and recommended practices of the American Oil Chemists' Society [AOCS]. 4th ed. Champaign, Illinois, 1989. (loose-leaf) 25 cm.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: TP1 A644 1989
Note: No updates included in this copy since 1989. Contains sections A-H, J, M, R-T.
Official methods of analysis of the Association of Official Analytical Chemists [AOAC]. Washington, DC : The Association, c1970-
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: S587 A73
Other Locations: Pharmacy Library Stacks, Steenbock Library (Latest ed. in Reference), Wendt Library, 2nd Floor (Latest ed. in Reference)
Reagent chemicals. ACS. Oxford University Press.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection (9th ed.): QD77 A54 2000
Chemistry Library Reference Collection (8th ed.): QD77 A54 1993
[Sadtler spectra], several series with collective indexes located at end of set.
Chemistry Library: "green binders"
Sigma-Aldrich Handbook of Stains, Dyes, and Indicators, Milwaukee, Wis.: Aldrich Chemical Co., 1990.
Chemistry Library Reference: QD77 G73 1990
Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater. New York : American Public Health Association, 1960-.
Chemistry Library Reference Collection: QD142 A51 (21st ed. 2005; 19th ed.1995)
Other Locations: Biology Library, Geology and Geophysics Library, Steenbock Library, Water Resources Library, Wendt Library (2nd Floor).
Journal Databases
Use Find It to locate an electronic journal (includes journals cataloged in MadCat, plus many more) and/or an article if you have the citation. See Chemistry Journals for more information.
ANALYTICAL ABSTRACTS 1980 - to date. (updated quarterly from SilverPlatter/WebSPIRS)
Indexes 1,300 international journals each year, in addition to books, conference proceedings, standarts, and technical reports in more than 20 languages. Covers analysis, biochemistry, chemical, energy, industry, pharmaceuticals, sicence and tehcnology. All citations include abstracts.
BEILSTEIN/GMELIN 1800 - date. (updated quarterly from Beilstein)
Beilstein covers preparations and properties of organic compounds and is searchable in multiple ways (structure, reaction, properties, chemical name, name segment, registry number). Gmelin covers preparations, properties and reactions of inorganic and organometallic coumpounds and is searchable in multiple ways. To launch Beilstein/Gmelin from a campus library workstation, click HERE. The client may be installed on local workstations for access outside campus libraries. See Remote Access and Client Distribution for more information about local installation. For search help, see Beilstein and Gmelin Help
SCIFINDER SCHOLAR
SciFinder Scholar is a client-server program used to access information in selected Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CAPlus, CARegistry, CAREACTS, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLISTS. It permits searching in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier (CAS Registry Number, chemical name), chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction. is fully accessible in all UW-Madison Libraries. Click HERE to launch SciFinder Scholar on a campus library computer (not on a DoIT Info Lab computer located inside a campus library).The client may be installed on local workstations for access outside campus libraries. See Remote Access and Client Distribution for more information about local installation. For search help, see SciFinder Scholar Help
WEB OF KNOWLEDGE
Combines three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1980-). These databases are searchable independently or in any combination. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, including articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. Cited author searching is available.
Locating Books
Chemistry Library Call Numbers
- QD 63 Techniques (includes laser techniques)
- QD 71-142 Analytical chemistry
- QD 77 Reagents and indicators
- QD 79 Analytical methods
- QD 95-96 Spectral analysis
- QD 501-505.5 Chemical Reactions (includes solubility, solution equilibria, stability constants)
- QD 540-549 Solutions, solubility and solvents
- QD 571 Ion selective electrodes
Subject Headings
Use MadCat BASIC Subject heading Browse Search.
- Analytical biochemistry
- Analytical geochemistry
- Archaeological chemistry
- Chromatographic analysis
- Colorimetric analysis
- Electrolysis
- Enzymatic analysis
- Fluorimetry
- Indicators and test-papers
- Instrumental analysis
- Metallurgical analysis
- Microchemistry
- Mineralogy, Determinative
- Phosphorimetry
- Radiochemical analysis
- Separation (Technology)
- Speciation (Chemistry)
- Spectrophotometry
- Surfaces (Technology) Analysis
- Thermal analysis
- Trace analysis
Web Sites
- Analytical Chemistry. http://ull.chemistry.uakron.edu/analytical/index.html
- ASDL (Analytical Sciences Digital Library): a peer reviewed digital library for the analytical sciences.
- SIRCh: Analytical Chemistry (Constitutional Chemistry). http://www.indiana.edu/~cheminfo/ca_accc.html
-
WWW Virtual Library: Links for Chemists: Analytical Chemistry. http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html