Subject Guide: Inorganic Chemistry

Standard Texts

Advanced inorganic chemistry. F. Albert Cotton, Geoffrey Wilkinson, Carlos A. Murillo, Manfred Bochmann. 6th ed. 2007.
Chemistry Library Reserve: QD151.2 C68 1999

Chemistry of the elements. N. N. Greenwood, A. Earnshaw. 2nd ed. 1997.
Chemistry Library Reserve: QD466 G74 1997

Physical inorganic chemistry: a coordination chemistry approach. S. F. A. Kettle. 1996.
Chemistry Library Reserve: QD475 K46 1996

General Overview Works

Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD474 C65

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD151.2 C64

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD411 C652 2007

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD411 C652 1995

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD411 C65 1982

Comprehensive Polymer Science.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD381 C66 1989

Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD411 C66 1996

Synthetic Methods

Beilstein, Gmelin, and SciFinder Scholar include reaction search capabilities. However, If the procedure was considered "common knowledge" by the original author, it may not appear in Beilstein or SciFinder Scholar. For this information the best sources are:

Inorganic Syntheses. Chemistry Library Ref QD151 A1 I5

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds. .
Chemistry Library Ref: QD 251 H45

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry.
Chemistry Library Ref: QD148 E53 2005

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. Online
Excellent source for industrial applications - multiple editions available.
Chemistry Library Ref: TP9 E68

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.2004.
Chemistry Library Ref: QC 176.8 N35 E53 2004

Handbook of Inorganic Chemicals. Online through Knovel.
Wendt Library: QD155.5 H36 1995

Handbook of Zeolite Science and Technology
Wendt Library: TP 159 M6 H36 2003

Nomenclature of inorganic chemistry. IUPAC
Rrecommendations 2005 -- Chemistry Library Ref: QD149 N657 2005
Recommendations 2000 -- Chemistry Library Ref: QD149 I57 2001
Recommendations 1990 -- Chemistry Library Ref: QD149 N66 1990

Property Data

These resources provide physical constants for particular organic compounds and, in some cases, reference to the original literature.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. CRC Press. new editions annually
Chemistry Library Ref QD 65 H32, copies on shelves in reference area. Online

Knovel Scientific and Engineering Online References
The Knovel database contains of some of the leading chemistry and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Some of the standard reference texts included are Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. The content of more than 200 books is interactive and cross-searchable. Users can manipulate and extract information (for example, text, live tables, graphs, images, databases) to suit their needs. Data searching retrieves tables, graphs, and equations that can be further manipulated in spreadsheets and with java applets.

Physical and Chemical Properties Index. UW-Madison Chemistry Library

The Porphyrin Handbook.
Chemistry Library Ref: QP671 P6 P67 2000

Spectral Data and Spectroscopy Information Subject Guide. UW-Madison Chemistry Library

USGS Minerals Information. US Geological Survey.

WebElements. http://www.webelements.com/

Journal Databases

Gmelin CrossFire

To launch Beilstein/Gmelin from a campus library workstation, click HERE. The client may be installed on local workstations for access outside campus libraries. See Remote Access and Client Distribution for more information about local installation.
For search help, see Beilstein and Gmelin Help

Gmelin CrossFire covers inorganic and organometallic compounds and is based upon the German work, Gmelin. The database contains most of the information in the handbook plus continued coverage of about 60 journals. CrossFire is the only index that covers the very old literature (earliest record is 1772). CrossFire may be searched in a number of ways: molecular formula, chemical name, chemical structure/substructure, reaction, etc. (updated quarterly)

Materials Research Database

Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end us, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. subfiles of particular interest to inorganic chemists include Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, and Engineered Materials Abstracts. 1966- (updated biweekly)

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar is a client-server program used to access information in selected Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CAPlus, CARegistry, CAREACTS, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLISTS. It permits searching in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier (CAS Registry Number, chemical name), chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction. is fully accessible in all UW-Madison Libraries. Click HERE to launch SciFinder Scholar on a campus library computer (not on a DoIT Info Lab computer located inside a campus library).The client may be installed on local workstations for access outside campus libraries. See Remote Access and Client Distribution for more information about local installation. For search help, see SciFinder Scholar Help. (updated weekly)

Web of Knowledge

Combines three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1980-). These databases are searchable independently or in any combination. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, including articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials.Web of Knowledge 's most powerful search feature is the cited reference search. This feature permits you to find new information on a topic by using citation connections between articles, rather than the subject terms of a traditional index. (updated weekly)

Locating Journals

Use Find It to locate an electronic journal (includes journals cataloged in MadCat, plus many more) and/or an article if you have the citation. Use the Find It link to MadCat to locate a print copy.

Use the Electronic Journal List to locate electronic-only journals.

  • Use the SUBJECT BROWSE tab to generate a list of chemistry electronic journals by sub-category.
  • Use the MORE OPTIONS tab to generate a list of chemistry electronic journals by Publisher/Provider such as ACS.

See Chemistry Journals for more information.

Locating Books

Chemistry Library Call Numbers

  • QD 146 - QD 197 (Inorganic Chemistry)
  • QD 410-412.5 (Organometallic Chemistry)
  • QD 475 (Physical Inorganic Chemistry)
  • TP 155 - TP 208 (Chemical Engineering, Chemical Technology of Polymers, Manufacture and Use of Chemicals)
  • TP 1080 - TP1185 (Polymers, Plastics)

Subject Headings

Use MadCat BASIC Subject heading Browse.

  • chemistry, inorganic
  • inorganic compounds
  • organometallic chemistry
  • organometallic compounds
  • coordination chemistry

Hint: These subject headings are very general. For more specific topics, try MadCat GUIDED [Keywords Anywhere]. Use the element name for a particular chemical element (Example:. titanium)

Web Sites